Nina C. Young

Art Discipline: 
New York, NY
United States
Dates of Residence: 
Jan 5, 2015 to Jan 16, 2015

New York-based composer Nina C. Young writes music characterized by an acute sensitivity to tone color, manifested in aural images of vibrant, arresting immediacy. Her experience in the electronic studio informs her acoustic work, which takes as its given not melody and harmony, but sound itself. Young's music has garnered international acclaim through performances by the American Composers Orchestra, Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, Orkest de ereprijs, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Argento Chamber Ensemble, Either/Or, JACK Quartet, Sixtrum, and Yarn/Wire. Her works received honors from the ACO, BMI, IAWM, and SEAMUS, along with a Charles Ives Scholarship, Martirano Memorial Award, and the Jacob Druckman Prize. Young has been awarded fellowships to the Atlantic and Aspen Music Festivals, and the Tanglewood Music Center. A graduate of McGill and MIT, Nina is pursuing her doctorate at Columbia University, studying with Georg Friedrich Haas and Fred Lerdahl. She worked as a research assistant at the MIT Media Lab and CIRMMT and currently teaches electronic music at the Columbia Computer Music Center.